Understanding Nutrition and Health Level 2 Certificate

What is this course about?

This course is suitable for learners who are interested in improving their knowledge and understanding of diet and nutrition to promote well-being and a healthy lifestyle.

Apply Now

Understanding Nutrition and Health Level 2 Certificate

Start: Available throughout the year.

How is it taught

As you work through the learning materials, you will have the support of a knowledgeable assessor/tutor who will give you support, advice and guidance on the course content as well as providing robust feedback on the work you complete. This course consists of 2 assessments to be completed 4 weeks apart. Upon successful completion of the course, you will be awarded the CACHE Level 2 Certificate in Understanding Nutrition and Health.

What else do I need to know?

The course includes: Unit 1: Explore principles of healthy eating. This unit looks at how diet affects a person’s health. Learners then look at how the 5 food groups contribute to a healthy diet and the role of different nutrients in maintaining health. The final section provides learners with an understanding of healthy food preparation. Unit 2: Consider nutritional needs of a variety of individuals. This unit encourages learners to look at how nutritional needs vary with age. Learners gain an understanding of the special dietary requirements of people following a vegetarian diet, people with certain cultural requirements, and people with allergies. They also gain an awareness of the factors that create barriers to healthy eating. Unit 3: Use food and nutrition information to plan a healthy diet. In this unit learners gain an awareness of the information provided on food labels and how this may be used to help plan a healthy diet. They will learn the facts behind nutritional claims on food labels and will consider the advantages and disadvantages of using food additives. In the final section learners evaluate their own diet and make recommendations for improvement. Unit 4: The principles of weight management. This unit aims to give learners an understanding of weight management and how to plan a short-term weight management programme. Unit 5: Understanding eating disorders. This unit gives learners an understanding of different types of eating disorders, how they develop, and their effect on health and well-being. Unit 6: Principles of food safety for the home environment. In this unit learners will understand food safety in a home environment. They will investigate safe handling of food, food storage and food disposal. They will also look at correct cooking temperatures to ensure food is safe to eat.
Apply Today   Step 1 - Select a Course